skip navigation

SHSAA AGM 2019 - North Battleford

06/24/2019, 3:30pm CST
By SHSAA Office

SHSAA hosted the 2019 AGM in North Battleford at the Tropical Inn from June 19-21.  District Presidents met with the Executive Council and Office staff on Wednesday, June 19 to review the past year (financials) and prepare for the upcoming two days of business and school year.

On Thursday, June 20, the Provincial Council was welcomed by MLA Herb Cox and North West School Division Superintendent, Aaron Oakes.  Addresses from from President, Valerie Gordon and Executive Director, Lyle McKellar were followed by a review of bids to host for upcoming championships in 2019-20 and 2020-21.

Shelley Coolidge from Coaches Association of Canada presented on Responsible Coaching and Safe Sport.  Shelley's presentation was followed by Eugene Arcand.  Eugene, a residential school survivor and member of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, spoke on his experiences and the impact of Truth and Reconciliation.

During lunch, prior to the afternoon sport specific planning sessions, Barb Seymour (North West School Division Trustee) welcomed everyone on behalf of the host Board of Education, Drew Hanson updated everyone on the CIAAA, and a number of retiring SHSAA Executive members were recognized.  Those recognized included:
President - Valerie Gordon (Chinook SD)
Women's Rep - Shannon Stephenson (Outlook High School)
Saskatoon Rep - Kirby Frey (Saskatoon Bethlehem High School)
LEADS Rep - Shelley Sargent (South East Cornerstone School Division)
SSBA Rep - Donna Banks (Saskatoon Public Schools)

Thursday evening was a time to celebrate key individuals for their contributions to the member districts and SHSAA.

Service Award Winners:
Battle West - Greg Knot
Central Valley - Scott Cory
East Central - Dan Alspach
Horizon Central - Terry Gaudet
North Central - Adam Svenkeson
North East - Terry Andrusiak
North West - Brad Freyman
Qu' Appelle Valley - Doug Gheyssen
Regina - Wade Bartlett
Saskatoon - Brad Smith
South Central - Michel Forest
South East - Jeff Cameron
South West - Rob Englot
West Central - Will Johnson

Merit Awards were presented to Brian Grest (Horizon Central District) and Jay Elder (North West District).

To start off Friday morning, Tim Strom from PA Carlton shared his school's experience with Unified Sport and encouraged other schools to get involved by seeking out information from Special Olympics Saskatchewan.

The following positions on the SHSAA Executive Council were filled:
President - Jeff Kitts (Moose Jaw Riverview Collegiate)
Saskatoon Rep - David Earl (Saskatoon Marion Graham Collegiate)
Women's Rep - Angela Mallory (Regina Thom Collegiate)

Bids to host were confirmed and a complete listing can be found at

The resolutions presented in the circulated information for the AGM were debated and voted upon.  A complete set of resolution results can be found at

A reminder that all documents and presentations from the AGM can be found at

Tag(s): Home  Officials Corner  SIAAA  Football  Badminton  Basketball  Cross Country  Curling  Golf  Soccer  Track & Field  Volleyball  Wrestling